Camerata - Landscapes

Presented by Camerata and QPAC.

Landscapes is a collection of music that portrays scenes, flavours and evocations of several places … that we can’t visit at this time. Instead, you can travel vicariously to Greece, England, Andalusia, through the music of Lennox Berkeley, the humour of Nikos Skalkottas and the well loved Rodrigo, as well as to the ancient mythological landscapes of Stravinsky’s Apollon Musagète. Paul Stanhope’s Dancing on Clouds will be a moving moment, depicting the ‘landscape’ that unwell children view from high up in a hospital ward as they look out their windows to the clouds, seeking hope for future adventures. Eric Avery, a Ngiyampaa, Yuin, Bandjalang and Gumbangirr artist, performs a series of miniatures, Mists and Violin Landscapes, new works that give the listener a fresh and authentic perspective on the ideas of landscape and place – Eric’s own place. You can expect an utterly alluring experience from this concert!


Eric Avery                                   Violin Landscapes

                                                   Mists 2

                                                   Mists 3


Lennox Berkeley                        Serenade for Strings, Op.12

Igor Stravinsky                          Selections from Apollon Musagète

Paul Stanhope                          Dancing on Clouds

Joaquín Rodrigo                       Dos Miniaturas Andaluzas         

Nikos Skalkottas                       Five Greek Dances



Eric Avery, violinist/dancer

Buy Tickets
Wed, 28 Jul 2021 07:00 PM 28 Jul 07:00PM Buy Tickets
Empire Church Theatre

Empire cardholder $38.00

Adults $55.00    

Concession $45.00    

Youth U30yrs $38.00

Running Time

show runs for 75 minutes, no interval


Three concert package 

 Adult - $132  ($44 per concert)

Concession/Empire Friends - $108 ($36 per concert)

U30/Student -    $69 ($23 per concert)


Two concert package:

Adult - $97 ($48.50 per concert)

Concession - $76 ($38 per concert)

U03/Student - $47 ($23.50 per concert)